[Home] [Downloads] [Search] [Help/forum]

Register forum user name Search FAQ

Gammon Forum

[Folder]  Entire forum
-> [Folder]  SMAUG
. -> [Folder]  SMAUG coding
. . -> [Subject]  New Admin, various questions

New Admin, various questions

It is now over 60 days since the last post. This thread is closed.     [Refresh] Refresh page

Posted by Riptor00ZERO   (6 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Sat 24 Aug 2013 11:40 PM (UTC)

Amended on Sun 25 Aug 2013 01:29 AM (UTC) by Riptor00ZERO

Alright, I've always wanted my own game so I'm finally going for it. I already know exactly what I want it to do, but the tricky bit is making that happen, right? I've played a lot of games and I've been a builder on several. I've got some coding experience too, similar but not specifically what's used here.

I've been messing around with SMAUG 1.9 for a couple days and have made a few minor changes that so far haven't broken anything.

Still a few things I'd like to get some help on, though.

1) How do I have character creation set Race first? Preferably race > sex > class. I came across something about this before but now I can't find it.
1a) Alternatively, I'd like to use a more involved character creation overall with more options. (Example: Select "Elf" as a race, then choose "Light Elf" or "Wood Elf," etc)
(I think I'm actually gonna go with a "Default" starting race/class and have customization take place in an interactive zone)
1c) How would I go about having race and class set automatically when creating a character? And I guess have gender start as neutral as well, though I suppose it might do that anyway.

2) (New question) How would I go about adding extra Class slots for characters? In other words, Multiclass.

3) How do I set innate effects on races, such as elemental weakness/resistance and passive buffs?

4) How would I go about changing the elemental properties?