[Home] [Downloads] [Search] [Help/forum]

Register forum user name Search FAQ

Gammon Forum

[Folder]  Entire forum
-> [Folder]  Dawn of Time
. -> [Folder]  Administration
. . -> [Subject]  Is DOT Newbie Friendly?

Is DOT Newbie Friendly?

It is now over 60 days since the last post. This thread is closed.     [Refresh] Refresh page

Posted by Sabrina   (1 post)  [Biography] bio
Date Thu 27 Jan 2005 05:00 AM (UTC)

I just want to say thank in advance for any tips and advice you can give me, as I'm new to DOT, but not new to MUD admin.

At the moment, I'm running CoffeeMud, but honestly, there isn't a whole lot of support for it just yet, as it's not a widely used code (Java based). I've decided that if I want to run and design/build my own, I need to go with a code that is more supported by experience users of it.

With that being said, I have a few questions.

Is the offline area editor that was made for SMAUG useable with DOT? I have the registered version that I got right here at Mr. Gammon's :) Along with his wonderful game client. (Yes, I'm a suck-up, I can't help it).

I don't plan on implementing any code snippets, or new code at all, but building areas, mobs, etc. I'll worry about code changes later ;)

Also, if anyone could point me in the right direction for some detailed OLC/commands for Dawn of Time, that would be great, as well :)

Thanks again!

Sabrina
[Go to top] top

Posted by Meerclar   USA  (733 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #1 on Thu 27 Jan 2005 09:55 AM (UTC)