[Home] [Downloads] [Search] [Help/forum]

Gammon Software Solutions forum

See www.mushclient.com/spam for dealing with forum spam. Please read the MUSHclient FAQ!

[Folder]  Entire forum
-> [Folder]  Area Editor
. -> [Folder]  General
. . -> [Subject]  Shopkeepers
Home  |  Users  |  Search  |  FAQ
Username:
Register forum user name
Password:
Forgotten password?

Shopkeepers

It is now over 60 days since the last post. This thread is closed.   [New subject]  Start a new subject   [Refresh] Refresh page


Pages: 1 2  

Posted by Tribulon   (12 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Thu 20 May 2004 02:25 AM (UTC)  quote  ]
Message
When I try to compile I get an error

c:\documents and settings\tl\my documents\bollier\smaugfuss\src\i3.c(28) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'unistd.h': No such file or directory
Error executing cl.exe.,

and


Compiling...
imc.c
c:\documents and settings\tl\my documents\bollier\smaugfuss\src\imc.c(45) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'unistd.h': No such file or directory
Error executing cl.exe.


I have put a copy of this file in every src, and several other folders, and have included this file as a header with my compiler. I am using Visual C++ 6.0 Standard.

Any suggestions? I have tried compiling each indivdually and it does the same both ways.

Also on tables.c, I get 561 warnings saying
Expression evaluates to a function which is missing an argument list. I don't know if this affects anything though.
[Go to top] top

Posted by David Haley   USA  (3,881 posts)  [Biography] bio   Moderator
Date Reply #1 on Thu 20 May 2004 02:47 AM (UTC)  quote  ]
Message
If you're compiling on Windows, you should get a Windows port of SMAUG.

There is one here:
http://www.gammon.com.au/downloads/dlsmaug.htm

You should be able to compile with that. If not, I would suggest getting Cygwin. You can always edit in VC++ and compile in Cygwin; I did that for a while and it's not so bad.

David Haley aka Ksilyan
Head Programmer,
Legends of the Darkstone

http://david.the-haleys.org
[Go to top] top

Posted by Tribulon   (12 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #2 on Thu 20 May 2004 03:41 AM (UTC)  quote  ]
Message
I did get the Windows port from here. I tested the two files with the errors. When I took out the #include <uninstd.h>, they just went to another file that could not be found, so I think there must be some directory I need to place these in. Do you know of where it might be?
[Go to top] top

Posted by David Haley   USA  (3,881 posts)  [Biography] bio   Moderator
Date Reply #3 on Thu 20 May 2004 06:14 AM (UTC)  quote  ]
Message
Well, normally this stuff is all compiled with Cygwin.

It's not a directory you need, it's just that Windows and *nix have different sets of header files. Fortunately most of it is the same but just in different spots. You could always try looking up the undefined symbols on MS's MSDN (msdn.microsoft.com) and see what header file they need.

Still, if you feel up to it, I would recommend installing and using Cygwin. It's a daunting task if you're not using to *nix, but well worth it for serious development.

David Haley aka Ksilyan
Head Programmer,
Legends of the Darkstone

http://david.the-haleys.org
[Go to top] top

Posted by Greven   Canada  (835 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #4 on Thu 20 May 2004 06:18 AM (UTC)  quote  ]
Message
You might just need to be using defines for the environment your on. I'm not sure if there is one specific for VC++, but, for example, windows is like this:

#ifdef WIN32
#include <winsock.h>
#include <sys/types.h>
#pragma warning( disable: 4018 4244 4761)
#define NOCRYPT
#define index strchr
#define rindex strrchr
#else
#include <unistd.h>
#endif

You might need to look through the documentation, maybe do a search through the help files for unistd.h, libraries, something like that, and it may tell you how to define it to work properly within VC++.

Nobody ever expects the spanish inquisition!

darkwarriors.net:4848
http://darkwarriors.net
[Go to top] top

Posted by Tribulon   (12 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #5 on Sun 23 May 2004 05:37 PM (UTC)  quote  ]
Message
So, I have Cygwin now. What do I do now?
[Go to top] top

Posted by Zeno   USA  (2,871 posts)  [Biography] bio   Moderator
Date Reply #6 on Sun 23 May 2004 06:25 PM (UTC)  quote  ]
Message
Compile, or so I think thats what you want to do. I haven't actually used Cygwin though. If you don't know much about it, type "make" in the src dir to compile.

Zeno McDohl,
Owner of Bleached InuYasha Galaxy
http://www.biyg.org
[Go to top] top

Posted by David Haley   USA  (3,881 posts)  [Biography] bio   Moderator
Date Reply #7 on Sun 23 May 2004 09:08 PM (UTC)  quote  ]
Message
Nick has excellent guides to Cygwin here. Check out:

http://www.gammon.com.au/smaug/howtocompile.htm

David Haley aka Ksilyan
Head Programmer,
Legends of the Darkstone

http://david.the-haleys.org
[Go to top] top

Posted by Tribulon   (12 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #8 on Mon 24 May 2004 05:23 AM (UTC)  quote  ]
Message
I have got it compiled! Now I just have a few question more to ask.

1. How do you create guilds (clans)?
2. Do any of you know which Cygwin package includes tcsh?
3. Have any of you ever heard of Scan, it lets you look 4 blocks E, W, S, N, U, D. If so, do you know where to get code for it?
4. Anyone have a detailed list of how to put together Skills and Spells, it could be useful.
[Go to top] top

Posted by Zeno   USA  (2,871 posts)  [Biography] bio   Moderator
Date Reply #9 on Mon 24 May 2004 08:25 PM (UTC)  quote  ]
Message
1.) Use the command 'makeclan' and 'setclan'.

3.) Stock Smaug comes with the scan skill, I thought.
4.) I don't have one, but look over other simple skills, like kick.

Zeno McDohl,
Owner of Bleached InuYasha Galaxy
http://www.biyg.org
[Go to top] top

Posted by Greven   Canada  (835 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #10 on Mon 24 May 2004 10:32 PM (UTC)  quote  ]
Message
2) The TCSH package has it. Its a package unto itself. If you run the install program again, it will let you add packages, just click the button in the upper-right hand corner to "All"( I think), and then scroll down, it should be in alphabetical order.

Nobody ever expects the spanish inquisition!

darkwarriors.net:4848
http://darkwarriors.net
[Go to top] top

Posted by Tribulon   (12 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #11 on Tue 25 May 2004 01:30 AM (UTC)  quote  ]
Message
I did try to use Makeclan and Setclan. I think Makeclan works fine, but when I try to use Setclan it says 'No such clan' or something to that affect.

Also, about scan, it does have a lower version scan. It lets you look one direction. The one I am talking about is included not as a skill, and it scans every direction 3 or 4 distances away.

eg. When you type scan you get

the trainer who is not far off to the east.
the knight templar who is a brief walk away to the east.
A Baerlon sentry who is close by to the south.
Lord Jindukai who is close by to the south.
A teller who is close by to the west.
The peddler who is close by upwards.
[Go to top] top

Posted by Zeno   USA  (2,871 posts)  [Biography] bio   Moderator
Date Reply #12 on Tue 25 May 2004 01:33 AM (UTC)  quote  ]
Message
Use quotes around the clan, or use the clan filename when using setclan.
Like:

setclan 'some clan' filename someclan.cln

Zeno McDohl,
Owner of Bleached InuYasha Galaxy
http://www.biyg.org
[Go to top] top

Posted by Tribulon   (12 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #13 on Tue 25 May 2004 03:32 PM (UTC)  quote  ]
Message
I got the clan made, I know how to do that now.

When I make a shop it works just like I wanted it to, but when I shutdown the mud I have to make the shop again. Do I have to put it to a filename too? If I do, then is there a special extension I need?
[Go to top] top

Posted by Zeno   USA  (2,871 posts)  [Biography] bio   Moderator
Date Reply #14 on Tue 25 May 2004 10:40 PM (UTC)  quote  ]
Message
You have to make the shop again? As in the whole mob? Are you adding a reset, and making it an actual shop, along with saving the area?

Zeno McDohl,
Owner of Bleached InuYasha Galaxy
http://www.biyg.org
[Go to top] top

The dates and times for posts above are shown in Universal Co-ordinated Time (UTC).

To show them in your local time you can join the forum, and then set the 'time correction' field in your profile to the number of hours difference between your location and UTC time.


6,976 views.

This is page 1, subject is 2 pages long: 1 2  [Next page]

It is now over 60 days since the last post. This thread is closed.   [New subject]  Start a new subject   [Refresh] Refresh page

Go to topic:           Search the forum


[Go to top] top

Quick links: MUSHclient. MUSHclient help. Forum shortcuts. Posting templates. Lua modules. Lua documentation.

[Home]

Written by Nick Gammon - 5K

Comments to: Gammon Software support
[RH click to get RSS URL] Forum RSS feed ( http://www.gammon.com.au/rss/forum.xml )

[Best viewed with any browser - 2K]    [Web site powered by FutureQuest.Net]