[Home] [Downloads] [Search] [Help/forum]

Register forum user name Search FAQ

Gammon Forum

[Folder]  Entire forum
-> [Folder]  Forum
. -> [Folder]  Suggestions
. . -> [Subject]  Scripting Error Popup

Scripting Error Popup

It is now over 60 days since the last post. This thread is closed.     [Refresh] Refresh page

Posted by Mkn07   (5 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Sat 04 May 2013 01:48 AM (UTC)
I have been trying to use the hotspots and mouse handlers.

Whenever I create an error in one of the mouse handler functions (I'm a rookie), the scripting error popup gets stuck in a loop or something and I have to force the client to quit.

So I'm wondering if there is some method to prevent that from happening aside from writing flawless code on the first try.
[Go to top] top

Posted by Fiendish   USA  (2,514 posts)  [Biography] bio   Global Moderator
Date Reply #1 on Sat 04 May 2013 02:27 AM (UTC)
You don't need to write flawless code to avoid writing infinite loops.

https://github.com/fiendish/aardwolfclientpackage
[Go to top] top

Date Reply #2 on Sat 04 May 2013 03:33 AM (UTC)

It isn't from loops I write. It's like any generic sort of error, like arithmetic on a nil value or indexing a nil or string expected but got a number, etc.

When that happens in a mouse handler function then the scripting error just keeps repeating every time I attempt to close the popup.

I was asking if there is some setting I have missed that prevents that. If not, then this is meant as a suggestion to include that feature.
[Go to top] top

Date Reply #3 on Sat 04 May 2013 04:52 AM (UTC)
I've forced an error in all of the hotspot handlers I know of now. I should have done that first maybe.

It seems only when an error happens in the dragmove handler that it keeps repeating and the popup goes loopy.
[Go to top] top

Date Reply #4 on Sat 04 May 2013 05:26 AM (UTC)