[Home] [Downloads] [Search] [Help/forum]

Register forum user name Search FAQ

Gammon Forum

[Folder]  Entire forum
-> [Folder]  SMAUG
. -> [Folder]  SMAUG coding
. . -> [Subject]  Summoning Mobs

Summoning Mobs

It is now over 60 days since the last post. This thread is closed.     [Refresh] Refresh page

Posted by Kain   USA  (43 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Wed 03 Jul 2002 11:02 PM (UTC)

Does anyone know if anyone has written any code for summoning mobs to assist the summoner in battle or for other tasks?

If not, I am trying to (at least in my head first) figure out a good way to do this. My initial thoughts were to code (either a command or spell) something similar to the 'minvoke' wizard command. But I was kind of stuck as to how to make sure that the mob would attack another mob/pc and not the summoner.
So then...I thought this may have to be some kind of mobprog-hard coded spell-hybrid to be able to get this done.

As you may have figured out, I'm new to SMAUG (and MUD coding in general). Can anyone point me in a good direction or tell me if what I'm trying to do is even possible?

Thanks fot the time
[Go to top] top

Posted by Neves   USA  (78 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #1 on Wed 03 Jul 2002 11:19 PM (UTC)
Probably the best way would be to make a spell where the Mob is summoned and then either protects the caster so if they get hit afterwards the mob joins in, or make it so the spell is casted at a target and the Mob will then attack the target and just put in a check to make sure the target isn't the caster or a non deadly char.

-Mark Calloway
[Go to top] top

Posted by Chris L   USA  (57 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #2 on Thu 04 Jul 2002 08:23 PM (UTC)