[Home] [Downloads] [Search] [Help/forum]

Register forum user name Search FAQ

Gammon Forum

[Folder]  Entire forum
-> [Folder]  Programming
. -> [Folder]  General
. . -> [Subject]  multi line trigger to open doors in Aardwolf

multi line trigger to open doors in Aardwolf

It is now over 60 days since the last post. This thread is closed.     [Refresh] Refresh page

Posted by Kenneth   (18 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Thu 13 Mar 2008 05:08 AM (UTC)
Hello, I need some assistance making a trigger to open doors in the mud "Aardwolf".

Please be advised that I am new to MUDs and to MUSHclient and have no knowledge of programming or anything of that sort.

When I type west to go to a door in the west, for example, the MUD says:

west <---on the first line, and
The door is closed. <---on the second line

It's displaying west on the first line because I typed "west" and "The door is closed." on the second line to tell me the that the door is closed. I'll likely need to set a trigger to open a door in the directions: up, down, north, east, south, and west. If anyone can help me, please be as specific as possible in your instructions. I really don't know what i'm doing and this is all very confusing. Thanks for any help that anyone is able to give me.
[Go to top] top

Posted by Nick Gammon   Australia  (22,973 posts)  [Biography] bio   Forum Administrator
Date Reply #1 on Thu 13 Mar 2008 09:20 AM (UTC)

Amended on Thu 13 Mar 2008 09:21 AM (UTC) by Nick Gammon

Does the MUD really say "west" on the first line? Or is this something you typed?

This might seem like a minor point, but triggers match on what the MUD sends, not on what you type. There are ways of dealing with that, but I wanted to be sure.

- Nick Gammon

www.gammon.com.au, www.mushclient.com
[Go to top] top

Date Reply #2 on Thu 13 Mar 2008 12:46 PM (UTC)