[Home] [Downloads] [Search] [Help/forum]

Register forum user name Search FAQ

Gammon Forum

[Folder]  Entire forum
-> [Folder]  MUSHclient
. -> [Folder]  General
. . -> [Subject]  How to work offline?

How to work offline?

It is now over 60 days since the last post. This thread is closed.     [Refresh] Refresh page

Posted by Munkar   (1 post)  [Biography] bio
Date Wed 11 Feb 2009 10:03 AM (UTC)

I am a complete novice in regards with mushclient, so please forgive me if this is pretty obvious:)

- I want to tinker with scripting and testing stuff without being connected to a mud(have some off hours at work and this will fill my time pretty nicely), and whenever I try to enter any text in command line mushclient wants to connect to a world.
- Another question I have is what command can I use to output text in the window which will be parsed like it is coming from the mud?

thank you in advance
[Go to top] top

Posted by Worstje   Netherlands  (899 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #1 on Wed 11 Feb 2009 11:06 AM (UTC)
MUSHclient only asks to connect to the mud when there is no alias matching what you type. In other words - input that would do nothing. In 99% of the cases, people would indeed like to be connected when typing there. :)

You could use the following alias to remedy that 'problem'. (You might want to remove the extra world.Tell I added to make sure it worked while I tested just now.)

<aliases>
  <alias
   match="^(.+)$"
   enabled="y"
   regexp="y"
   send_to="12"
   sequence="9999"
  >
  <send>world.Tell("Fallback alias: %1")
world.Send("%1")</send>
  </alias>
</aliases>

As for your second question, you can use world.Simulate. Or, if you are like me and prefer to use the interface, Game -> Test Trigger... is what you want.

[Go to top] top

Posted by WillFa   USA  (525 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #2 on Wed 11 Feb 2009 06:30 PM (UTC)