[Home] [Downloads] [Search] [Help/forum]

Register forum user name Search FAQ

Gammon Forum

[Folder]  Entire forum
-> [Folder]  MUSHclient
. -> [Folder]  General
. . -> [Subject]  Setting a timer to input a command every <#here> minutes

Setting a timer to input a command every <#here> minutes

It is now over 60 days since the last post. This thread is closed.     [Refresh] Refresh page

Posted by Silverwood   (12 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Sun 09 Aug 2009 09:13 PM (UTC)
The one thing I really need to get out of MUSHclient is this: repeating a text command to a server every, say, 5 minutes.

Could someone please provide an example as to how I can do this? I'm new to the program, so I would truly appreciate a detailed explanation.

Of course, if this question has already been answered, then a link to the topic would be good. If you can spare some time though, a direct response would be great!

Thanks to everyone for participating,
Silverwood
[Go to top] top

Posted by Nick Gammon   Australia  (22,975 posts)  [Biography] bio   Forum Administrator
Date Reply #1 on Sun 09 Aug 2009 09:43 PM (UTC)

<timers>
  <timer enabled="y" minute="5" >

<send>sigh</send>

</timer>
</timers>

See: http://mushclient.com/pasting for how to copy that example into the client.

- Nick Gammon

www.gammon.com.au, www.mushclient.com
[Go to top] top

Date Reply #2 on Sun 09 Aug 2009 11:37 PM (UTC)
Thanks! This code looks really intuitive ... hope I can get the hang of it soon.

One last question - it's a beginner's, but I can't seem to figure out how to solve it: how would I activate/deactivate the said timer?
[Go to top] top

Posted by Blainer   (191 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #3 on Mon 10 Aug 2009 12:21 AM (UTC)

Amended on Mon 10 Aug 2009 12:22 AM (UTC) by Blainer

<timers>
  <timer name="New_Timer" enabled="y" minute="5" second="0.00" offset_second="0.00" >
  <send>Sign</send>

</timer>
</timers>

<aliases>
  <alias
   match="StartTimer"
   enabled="y"
   send_to="12"