[Home] [Downloads] [Search] [Help/forum]

Register forum user name Search FAQ

Gammon Forum

[Folder]  Entire forum
-> [Folder]  MUSHclient
. -> [Folder]  Lua
. . -> [Subject]  How to do this thing

How to do this thing

It is now over 60 days since the last post. This thread is closed.     [Refresh] Refresh page

Posted by Toldo   (1 post)  [Biography] bio
Date Tue 05 Jan 2010 05:33 PM (UTC)
I have no knowledge of lua, I should fix that.
Is it possible to use a variable for the delay used with DoAfter

uh something like
DoAfter (var ,"make var1 on var2")
var is the time delay which needs to be 3 seconds, var1 is the id_number of the recipe to make which needs to increment by 1 each time to make each of the 50 recipes in a bench and var3 is the name of the bench to make it on

[Go to top] top

Posted by Twisol   USA  (2,257 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #1 on Tue 05 Jan 2010 05:47 PM (UTC)

Amended on Tue 05 Jan 2010 05:48 PM (UTC) by Twisol

-- a new Lua variable
-- (this is different from the ones in the Variables dialog)
var = 10

DoAfter(var, "make var1 on var2")

If you want to use MUSHclient variables instead (which have the benefit of appearing in the Variables dialog directly, but are less flexible), you could do this (assuming you have the variable set in the dialog already).

DoAfter(tonumber(GetVariable("var")), "make var1 on var2")

EDIT: As for learning Lua, try this online book a try. [1]

[1] http://www.lua.org/pil/

'Soludra' on Achaea

Blog: http://jonathan.com/
GitHub: http://github.com/Twisol
[Go to top] top

Posted by Cdw   (4 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #2 on Mon 07 Mar 2011 07:40 PM (UTC)
I figured posting in this old thread would be better than making YET ANOTHER thread with a one-off LUA DoAfter question; here goes.

I'm looking into LUA as a language on my own, but in the meantime I'm trying to put together little snippets to test it out and familiarize myself and I can't seem to figure out how to use DoAfter in an alias.