[Home] [Downloads] [Search] [Help/forum]

Register forum user name Search FAQ

Gammon Forum

[Folder]  Entire forum
-> [Folder]  MUDs
. -> [Folder]  General
. . -> [Subject]  Bringing MOO into the modern MUD world -- Help Wanted

Bringing MOO into the modern MUD world -- Help Wanted

It is now over 60 days since the last post. This thread is closed.     [Refresh] Refresh page

Pages: 1 2  

Posted by Sproingie   USA  (8 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Fri 26 Feb 2010 09:10 PM (UTC)
I just thought I'd introduce myself a bit:

I've been MUDding since about 1991, but mostly switched to chatting and hacking on MOOs like LambdaMOO, RiverMOO, and E_MOO, and like most other MOOers sort of disdained "combat MUDs". Now I find myself gravitating toward RPG MUDs again (currently enjoying the depravity that is HellMOO), and am pleasantly surprised to see the small MUD community staying active and even attracting new people.

These days, I find myself a more-than-dabbling MOO server hacker, in that I'm laying groundwork for serious rewrites to much of the MOO server codebase in order to support a couple of MUD projects I signed onto. I might even arrogate myself the new de facto maintainer of MOO should I manage to create any actual demand for the new codebase, but for now I'm happy with my own private fork. What strikes me is that even after all these years, I'm still finding MOO useful what with its pervasive permission model and seamless persistence. Things that MOO maintainers wouldn't conceive of before I'll do without a thought, because my cell phone now has more resources than the puny SparcServer 1000 that ran LambdaMOO all those years. I'd say I've got room to grow.